Tags

, , , , , , ,

Morning Coffee

Brunch.  I woke up this morning in our new apartment with that word in my mind.  For the first time in six years, B is home on the weekends, and so on Sundays, he’s been making me brunch.  Needless to say, Sunday has become my favorite day. Saturdays, on the other hand, we are still sorting out whose errands to tackle first and bumping into each other awkwardly in our small, but lovely, new apartment. But Sundays, we have it all figured out.  We get up around nine, one of us makes coffee, I water the plants and get the newspaper, B takes the comics to the patio and I read the front page sitting on the living room sofa.  We sip on coffee.  We mosey.  Pretty soon, B starts flipping through cookbooks, and then the house starts to smell like bacon and eggs and toast and bleu cheese grits (one of my most favorites!).  My stomach starts to growl; it’s all beautiful.

Beginning of Baked (Shirred) Egg

Brunch has been trendy for awhile now, and I’ve really wanted to participate in this trend.  I’ve seen the Facebook photos of friends on sun dappled restaurant patios with Mimosas, fancy eggs, and perfect bacon, and I would love to go to those brunches. . .occasionally.  But, honestly, I’m too lazy to go all the time.  On Sundays, I like to stay in my pajamas until 11:30 or so (I do try to get dressed before that demarcation line of noon, which means I have officially been lazy for too much of the day),  and sip on coffee for too many hours. This tradition of having B home on Sundays, moving languidly around, and then making brunch is new, but I’m hoping it evolves into something more permanent.

Blue Cheese Grits, Shirred Egg, and Bacon

Shirred Eggs

  • Olive Oil
  • Eggs
  • course salt and ground pepper
  • heavy cream
  • chopped tomato
  • Herbes de Province
  1. Grease ramekins with olive oil
  2. Crack one egg into each ramekin
  3. Add course salt and freshly ground pepper
  4. Add 1/2 teaspoon of heavy cream and topped them with chopped tomato
  5. Bake at 375 for about 15 min.
  6. When finished, sprinkle with fresh Herbes De Provence

Blue Cheese Grits

  • 2 cups whole milk
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 cup stone-ground grits
  • 3/4 teaspoon course salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup Maytag crumbled Bleu Cheese
  • Chopped or halved cherry tomatoes
  1. Pour milk and water into 2-quart saucepan cover and turn heat to medium high
  2. When mixture boils, add grit and salt and reduce heat to medium.
  3. Stir constantly until grits are the consistency of a thick soup (about 6-8 minutes)
  4. Reduce heat to low and simmer, stirring every 2 to 3 minutes for about 20 minutes.
  5. Cook about 15 more minutes, still stirring constantly.
  6. When grits are creamy and fluffy,  stop cooking and add bleu cheese, pepper and butter.  Season to taste with salt and more pepper if needed.  Add chopped tomatoes if desired.

Relaxing after breakfast

