Tags

, , , , ,

Coffee and potatoes

During the school year, I watch a lot of detective shows.  This is because I relate to the detectives.  I, too, must carry a coffee cup everywhere I go and think on my feet at all moments of the day.  It’s not easy being an introvert teacher, but I’ve grown to love it.

We start  classes tomorrow and that’s really what I should be working on, but I’m working on my blog.  I used to go into a panic every Sunday before classes started because I was so nervous about the next day.  Watching detective shows helped; seriously it did, as did looking at the big Texas sky or wildflowers growing beside the Texas highways.  I don’t know why but staring at the large expanse of light blue sky mixed with deep inhalations always seemed to calm me down; that’s usually my morning activity when driving to my classes.

Spanish omelet and strawberries

Tomorrow, I’ll start my first class at 7am and I won’t finish until 9pm.  This is partially because I got promoted (yay), so I knew this semester would be difficult.  Good thing B and I had a nice weekend leading up to it!  To all the teachers and students, have a good semester/year!

*Note:  I like corn tortillas mixed in with my Spanish omelet, but most recipes don’t call for it.  Also, I like mine to have plenty of potato and not too much onion because the onion can be overwhelming.  If you’re not a person who really likes onions, you might consider using only 1/2 or 3/4 of an onion even though B told me a whole onion for this recipe.

Spanish Omelets

Ingredients

  • 6 large eggs
  • 1 red pepper
  • 1 small white onion
  • 1 teaspoon garlic
  • Olive oil
  • 1 lb red potatoes
  • Corn tortillas
  • Herbs de Provence
  • Green olives and cheese (I used Parmesan, but you might experiment with a few different kinds) for garnish

Red bell pepper and onion

 Preparation

  1. Slice corn tortilla into strips or small triangles
  2. Fry 2 corn tortilla on skillet until crispy.  Then remove tortillas from skillet and blot with paper towel. Put aside for now.
  3. Peel potatoes and then cut into very thin slices. Add salt and pepper
  4. Sauté in 1/4  cup of olive oil over medium heat
  5. While potatoes cook, slice the whole onion and the whole bell pepper but make sure to still be stirring the potatoes because they will start to stick to the bottom of the pan.  As soon as you see this, remove them from heat. Do use the ones that stuck to the bottom of the pan because they have a good texture and absorb quite a bit of the flavorings (not if they are burned). Put potatoes to the side.
  6. Using the same skillet, sauté sliced bell pepper and onion in 3 teaspoons olive oil over medium heat until soft.  Add garlic and cook another 3 minutes or so.
  7. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  8. Mix already cooked potatoes and tortilla strips in skillet with onion, garlic, and red bell pepper. Turn oven to medium-low and cook potato mixture, while stirring, for about 5 minutes. Turn the heat to low on stove top.
  9. Beat the eggs with the herbs de Provence
  10. Pour the beaten eggs over the potatoes mixture.  Do not stir, but move pan so that eggs distribute evenly. Cook on stove top undisturbed for about 5 minutes. After about 5 minutes, transfer to the oven and bake until mixture is set, about 10 minutes.
  11. Remove pan and let cool.  Enjoy!

Spanish omelet and strawberries

