Tags

, , , , ,

Prepping to make caramel apples. There are cinnamon sticks here, but we didn’t end up using them.

B is prepping for a test, but I really didn’t want to miss a Sunday post so I decided to make caramel apples by myself.  Well, whenever I decide to cook by myself, I realize how much more familiar B is with the kitchen than me.  My workspace didn’t look anything like his clean and orderly workspace, and I felt completely overwhelmed just making caramel apples.  I’m not trying to be too disparaging of myself; I can do a lot of things, but I know that the cooking is not one of my strengths. So, just as I was about to burn the caramel, B stepped in and helped out.  Sigh of relief.

Prepping for caramel apple.

I was inspired by Martha Stewart’s Living cover this week, but we didn’t use any of the recipes from there.  We wanted to try caramel apples with ginger and a chocolate salt from The Spice and Tea Exchange that B received for his birthday.  I loved the ginger.  The chocolate salt was good, too, but we used too much salt.  If you happen to try these recipes, I would recommend using both sparingly.  The amount of ginger in the photo seemed perfect, but the amount of salt seen in the photos below was too much.  Use just a little.

Chocolate Salt Caramel Apple is in the front. Use less chocolate salt than in this photo; it was too much. Ginger Caramel Apple is in the back.

Caramel Apples with Ginger (my favorite) and or Chocolate Salt

Ginger Caramel Apple with the perfect amount of ginger.

Things you will need

  • Sticks for the apples
  • Parchment paper to put the apples on when finished
  • 14 oz bag of caramels
  • Water
  • Ginger
  • Chocolate salt

Preparation

  1. Unwrap the caramels and wash the apples
  2. Pull stems out of apples and insert stick into apples
  3. Put the apples and the spices by the stove so they are easily available when the caramel has melted.
  4. Cover a plate or baking sheet with parchment paper for the finished apples.
  5. Put the caramel in a saucepan and add 2 tablespoons of water.
  6. Cook on low heat (this will take a bit) until there are no more lumps in the caramel.
  7. Dip the apples in the caramel.
  8. Over the parchment paper, sprinkle the ginger or the chocolate salt over the caramel apple

