Tags

, , ,

July 1990ish, in a maroon mini-van with the windows down the whole way, my mother drove three crying teenage girls and one crying seven year old young man across the Texas state line.  Over one thousand miles from upstate New York to Central Texas, and we went kicking and screaming the whole way.  When we arrived in Texas, the heat felt suffocating and even living in a hotel didn’t mitigate the emotional wounds of an overly emotional adolescent girl who missed her friends and the familiarity of upstate New York (okay, the pool and going out to eat every night did help a little bit).  Texas’ expansive land looked dry and brittle compared to the lush green gardens we’d had in our backyard in Rochester.  Plus, the first day I went to school there were crickets jumping all across the floor of the girls’ locker room; nobody else seemed to really notice.

 

 It took a while, but Texas is a large part of my identity now.  On that note, so is moving seven times as a young child; it may not have been easy, but with each move, I was exposed to a new corner and way of thinking of our wonderful country. Pretty soon I started to notice how blue and huge the Texas’ sky was.   Pretty soon the friendliness of people stopped seeming insincere to me and just seemed nice.  Now I love Texas.  I love the crickets jumping around at night at gas stations and the sometimes austere landscape, but I also now know and love how truly varied Texas’ landscape is.

RIP Big Tex.

So that is my post for this week’s photo challenge.  It was a big moment in my life, and as they say, “Everything is bigger in Texas.”  It definitely is at the State Fair of Texas.  These photos are from last year, but I’ll be returning there next weekend for some more fried food and photos, can’t wait.

